Unfortunately, many people are injured on the job every single day. If you’re one of them, you’re likely looking to be compensated for your injuries, as the cost of medical bills, lost wages, and other damages you’ve incurred as a result of your accident can add up fast. Fortunately, if you have been hurt on the job, you’ve come to the right place. Those injured in Louisiana can turn to our Monroe work injury lawyer for guidance through each step of the claims process. Read on and contact our firm to learn more about what we can do for you.
Work Injury Lawyer Fighting for Clients throughout Louisiana
A work injury is more than a minor setback. Don’t settle for an attorney who will treat it as such. With Breithaupt, DuBos & Wolleson in your corner, you can feel confident that you have a legal team who truly cares about your health and well-being. You can trust an Ouachita Paris, Louisiana personal injury lawyer from our firm to effectively represent you in your pursuit of compensation.
What to Do After a Workplace Injury
Once you’ve sustained a workplace injury, the very first thing you should do is notify your employer or supervisor of your injury and await the arrival of an ambulance on the scene. You should also do what you can to document how the accident happened, such as by taking pictures of the unsafe conditions that caused your accident and gathering witness contact information. Once treated, be sure to keep a copy of all medical documentation detailing how your injury happened, the extent of your injury, and the cost of your injury. Finally, you should speak with a competent Monroe work injury lawyer who can help you pursue the compensation you need.
Workers’ Compensation in Louisiana
In most cases, when employees are injured on the job, they’ll pursue a workers’ compensation claim. Note that to file such a claim, you will have to notify your employer of your injury within 30 days of the date your accident happened, though it’s best to give notice either the day of or the day after your accident. From there, you must file your workers’ compensation claim within one year of the date of your accident, though the sooner you file, the better.
As long as you file on time, are a qualifying employee, and can prove that you were injured on the job (regardless of who was at fault) you should qualify for workers’ compensation benefits. These benefits can cover the cost of your medical bills and a portion of your lost wages (66 ⅔% of pre-injury wages in most cases) for a maximum of 520 weeks.
Third-party claims are different from workers’ compensation claims in that they are fault-based. Essentially, in a third-party claim, we will sue a liable third party who is not your employer (such as an independent contractor, equipment designer/manufacturer, or property owner) for the injuries you’ve sustained. There is no predetermined cap on damages an individual can recover in a third-party personal injury claim.
Contact a Work Injury Lawyer Today
The bottom line is that if you were hurt on the job, our legal team is ready to help you fight for the full and fair compensation to which you are entitled. Contact Breithaupt, DuBos & Wolleson today to schedule your free initial consultation with our personal injury law firm.